What Words are in the Deep Mind

What we memorize stays forever in our deep mind. I recall a man who fell off a horse. He was not particularly Christian or religious but in the panic of the moment he repeated….now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep.

This was all the religion he could muster in a crisis from the deep mind. He did not repeat his alphabet or the multiplication tables, but an appropriate prayer.
These things came to me when I heard the Chinese proudly recite their memorizations. Many times they would repeat the Gettysburg Address, ending with the “government of the people, by the people, and for the people will not perish from the earth.” I also heard the Declaration of Independence recited, although as a teacher in the US I never heard either of these recited.

These major declarations of American civic theology are deep in their mind. If this happens to enough Chinese, you will find a generation of educated leaders espousing all the other human rights and freedoms issues from the West. The middle aged people, hoever, recited for me the sayings of Mao. They rattled them off in unison and I realized that even though these people were Christians, albeit weak, inside the deep mind they were still Marxists.

No wonder the Bible says, “Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus.” We need a mind transplant to live correctly and a freedom mind to bring about the release of the Chinese from their self-imposed prison.

Leave a Reply

